an idiot blog for an idiot world

in summer

with 4 comments

I’d like to read you some Basho while you sleep in the air,
and until my eyes go rheumy red.
But I think you’ll prefer Neruda or Rumi,
Basho is like the rain that is fleeting
like that mono no aware.

“I like to wash,
the dust of this world
in the droplets of dew.” I would argue.

But you might respond:
“Come, come, whoever you are.
Wonderer, worshipper, lover of leaving.
It doesn’t matter.
Ours is not a caravan of despair.
Come, even if you have broken your vow
a thousand times
Come, yet again, come, come.”

And like this we might spar,
like lovers under the sheets,
now giving, now taking,
of love like fire
If “I am wind, you are fire”
beating and beating.

Now you are far away,
beyond where even the heron can fly,
where I am night, you are day,
where I am tonight, you are tomorrow,
forget me not lover,
for each time I slip between dreams,
it is your face I glimpse in the waning of the moon.

This longing will not survive
the three months it needs,
Slowly it will turn,
from ache to hurt, from hurt to wound,
until you take Neruda and say,
“so close that your eyes close when I fall asleep”
so close that when you die, my heart stops beating.

Now and then, I pretend,
as if you were lying next to me,
And I, in summer, with my Basho:
“Will you turn toward me?
I am lonely too,
This autumn evening.”

Written by Pranaya

June 4, 2010 at 12:31 AM

Posted in attempts.

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this one is amazing. you can no more tell people you aren’t good at poetry. there’s nothing quite like poetry, is there?

    pratul

    June 4, 2010 at 4:02 AM

  2. but this is so cheap. i used other people’s poetry to say things i can’t. i was experimenting, like in fiction, when you often quote other writing and comment on it as a sort of metatext. i just tried to do the same with poetry.

    “i like to wash…” is a basho haiku.
    “come come whoever you are…” is a rumi poem.
    “so close that your eyes close…” is from a neruda sonnet.
    “will you turn towards me…” is another basho haiku.

    Pranaya

    June 4, 2010 at 8:40 AM

    • poems speak for the readers, just as much as it does for the writer, when certain lines speak to the soul. what’s the harm in putting those together to make them speak for you all over again? i won’t call it cheap. try poetry again. it works.

      pratul

      June 4, 2010 at 12:08 PM

  3. Really Really wonderful poem…and the experiment you have really worked. It is not cheap…It would be unfair if you call it cheap…It created a wonderful feeling in me…I read it on and on and on…

    Sweta Baniya

    July 8, 2010 at 1:09 AM


Leave a Reply

